Coordinated Health

Jocelyne Lamoureux to Headline 2018 Athlete of the Year Awards

May 1, 2018

Bethlehem, Pa., (May 1, 2018) – U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team Gold Medalist Jocelyne Lamoureux will be the keynote speaker at the fifth annual Athlete of the Year Awards. The event will take place on May 22 at the ArtsQuest Center at SteelStacks in Bethlehem.

Lamoureux famously scored what Washington Post Columnist Jerry Brewer called “the greatest goal in U.S. women’s hockey history,” enabling Team USA to win the gold in the 2018 Olympics in PyeongChang. She will address an anticipated audience that will include the region’s top 70 high school athletes who will be vying for $20,000 in scholarship funding. They will be joined by their parents, coaches, athletic directors and community leaders at the event which will be carried by Service Electric TV.

The Athlete of the Year Awards event is the culminating celebration of the 2017-18 Athlete of the Week scholarship program. Sponsored by Coordinated Health, more than 135 high school athletes have been awarded over $200,000 in scholarships over the past four years. Each Athlete of the Week (Male and Female) recipient receives a $500 scholarship and is then eligible for the Athlete of the Year Award (Male and Female) of an additional $10,000 scholarship.

“This year’s Athlete of the Year Awards is shaping up to be more exciting and competitive than ever before with athletes representing schools throughout the Lehigh Valley region,” said Ron Ticho, CH Vice President of Corporate Strategy and External Affairs. “We’ve doubled the eligible pool of candidates to 70 student athletes and they are all truly impressive.”

The annual Athlete of the Year winner is decided based on input garnered from The Morning Call newspaper and presenting sponsor Coordinated Health, using criteria that considers academics, leadership and athletic performance. A Fan Favorite award is also selected from the results of online voting by the public. Past winners of the Athlete of the Year Award have included Zack Bradley of Catasaqua High School (2014), Amber Thomas of Northern Lehigh High School (2015), Evan Culver of Saucon Valley High School (2016), Seth Slavin from Pleasant Valley High School and Victoria Palochik (2017) from Nazareth Area High School.

Our call center is here to help
(610) 861-8080
Request an appointment